Skip to content
Home > Data Resources > DORA > United Kingdom

United Kingdom

General Medical Council

Duration and levels of accreditation

5 years

Accreditation standards

Evaluation process

The process involves the analysis of all aspects of education provided by medical schools including curriculum content, structure and delivery, assessment, facilities and resources, and student support. Specialist Quality Assurance of Basic Medical Education (QABME) teams of trained visitors verify information received through a series of focused visits to the medical schools and surrounding sites where training is delivered.

Outcome/consequences of accreditation


Description of accreditation organization

Independent Entity

The General Medical Council (GMC) sets and monitors standards in medical education. To ensure that UK Medical Schools maintain these standards, GMC runs a quality assurance program, which involves regular monitoring and visits to schools and their partner institutions. This program is called Quality Assurance of Basic Medical Education (QABME).

« Back to DORA

back to top
[Last update: August 13, 2015]